Yogi Adityanath To Be Next Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh

Yogi Adityanath
Yogi Adityanath To Be Next CM of Uttar Pradesh

Yogi Adityanath was formally elected as the chief ministerial candidate of Uttar Pradesh by the BJP legislators; KP Maurya and Dinesh Sharma to be deputy chief ministers

Yogi Adityanath
Yogi Adityanath To Be Next CM of Uttar Pradesh

The BJP today named Hindu hardliner Yogi Adityanath as the next chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. To balance this out, State unit chief Keshav Prasad Maurya and Lucknow Mayor Dinesh Sharma were nominated as deputy chief ministers.

To say that Yogi’s appointment was a surprise would be a gross understatement. Soon after the massive win in Uttar Pradesh, Prime Minister Narendera Modi proudly said that this was the turning point in history and he saw the emergence of a new India.

That New India did emerge, but ironically as Yogi Adityanath.

Modi had also said that the new slogan was sab ke sath sab ke vikas, in short an inclusive form of politics. But Yogi’s elevation is just the opposite of inclusive politics.

Yogi is a hardliner Hindu leader who has been harsh and unsparing on the minority community and Muslims in particular. He is also a big supporter for the Ram temple in Ayodhya.

The selection showed that the RSS had a big say in the nomination of Yogi Adityanath. There were reports in the media that the RSS was keen to play a major role in the selection of the next CM of Uttar Pradesh. The RSS has appointed a prominent saffron face to the thrown in Uttar Pradesh.

Yogi Adityanath will have a tough time to wipe out his saffron image and put up a progressive face and work for development and inclusive politics.

Sources said the Yogi will be under tight leash by BJP president Amit Shah and even Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

At a meeting in the state capital Lucknow, BJP legislators elected Adityanath after a close race among several chief ministerial candidates. He will take oath as UP chief minister tomorrow.

Over the last few days, reports suggested that the BJP top brass may pick Minister of State for Telecom Manoj Sinha for the coveted post, owing to his large experience in the party operations.

Keshav Prasad Maurya, union ministers Kalraj Mishra and Lucknow mayor Dinesh Sharma were also said to be in the running for the top post.

Yogi Adityanath, 44, is a five-time member of Parliament and has represented Gorakhpur in the Lok Sabha since 1998.

The firebrand leader held a meeting with UP BJP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya, Bhupendra Yadav, Om Mathur and Sunil Bansal ahead of the legislators meeting in Lucknow, ANI reported.

The BJP, which won three-fourths majority in the 403-member Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly, is returning to power after 14 years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here