Who Swapped Max Banned Notes? Mystery is Out

Who Swapped Max Banned Notes?

District Central Co-operative Banks headed by leaders of BJP, Congress, Shiv Sena, NCP, CPM exchanged maximum banned notes in Gujarat, Maharashtra, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka and Kerala.

New Delhi: All this while, who swapped demonetised currency was in the realm of speculation. Now it transpires that the District Central Cooperative Banks exchanged old notes of Rs 500 and Rs 1,000 worth Rs 22,270 crore from November 10 to December 31, 2016.

Of this, 18.82 per cent, or Rs 4,191.39 crore, was exchanged by top 10 DCCBs headed by leaders belonging to BJP, Congress, NCP, Shiv Sena and CPM.

According to RTI records accessed by The Indian Express from the National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD), the top 10 DCCBs are based in Gujarat, four in Maharashtra and one each in Himachal Pradesh, and Karnataka.

Though Kerala did not figure in the top 10, heading the state-wise list overall is Kasargod District Co-operative Bank in Kerala, which exchanged Rs 293.58 crore worth of old currency during demonetisation. The bank is controlled by the Left-ruled state government.

Who Swapped Max Banned Notes?Here is the list and do not be surprised by who heads these banks:

Ahmedabad District Co-operative Bank swapped old notes worth Rs 745.59 crore. BJP president Amit Shah is a director and BJP leader Ajaybhai H Patel the chairman.

Number 2:  Rajkot District Co-operative Bank, Rs 693.19 crore, headed by Gujarat Minister Jayeshbhai Radadiya.

3. Pune District Central Co-operative Bank, Rs 551.62 crore, headed by former NCP MLA Ramesh Thorat. Congress leader Archana Gare is vice-chairperson. NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s nephew Ajit Pawar as one of the directors.

4. Karnataka’s South Canara District Central Co-operative Bank Rs 327.81 crore, headed by Congress leader M N Rajendra Kumar. Its seventh on the list.

5.Nashik DCCB, eighth on the list: Rs 319.68 crore, headed at the time by Shiv Sena leader Narendra Darade.

Records also show that many of the DCCBs that topped their respective states are controlled by politicians, mostly from parties in power.

Tamil Nadu’s list is topped by Salem DCCB, which exchanged Rs 162.37 crore worth of old notes and is chaired by AIADMK leader R Elangovan. West Bengal’s No.1 is Nadia DCCB, which exchanged Rs 145.22 crore and is headed by TMC leader Shibnath Chowdhury. Khargone DCCB, which topped in MP, is chaired by BJP leader Ranjit Singh Dandir and exchanged old notes worth Rs 113.23 crore.

UP’s topper, Meerut DCCB (Rs 94.72 crore), was chaired by SP leader Jaiveer Singh at the time. Similarly, Andhra topper Guntur DCCB (Rs 83.23 crore) is controlled by TDP leader and former MLA M Venkat Subbaiah, while Telangana’s Hyderabad DCCB (Rs 79.16 crore) is chaired by TRS leader S Penta Reddy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here